WISCONSIN NOW OFFERS STATEWIDE ISSUANCE OF VITAL RECORDS
With the statewide issuance law now in effect, if the vital record you are trying to obtain falls within the below dates, you can visit any Register of Deeds Office in the State of Wisconsin.
Dates for Statewide Issuance:
Birth Records - 10/01/1907 to present
Death Records - 09/01/2013 to present
Marriage Records - 10/01/1907 to present
Divorce Records - 01/01/2016 to present
Fees for Vital Records:
$20 for the first copy and $3 for each additional copy issued at the same time
Who may receive a CERTIFIED copy of a vital record?
Anyone with a direct and tangible interest can receive a certified copy of a Vital Record per Chapter 69.20(1), Wisconsin Statutes. A person with a direct and tangible interest in a vital record is any of the following:
(a) The registrant of the vital record.
(b) A member of the registrant’s immediate family.
(c) The parent of a registrant, unless the parent is a birth parent whose parental rights to the registrant have been terminated under ch. 48.
(d) The registrant's legal custodians or guardians.
(e) A representative authorized by any person under pars. (a) to (d), including an attorney.
(f) Any other person who demonstrates a direct and tangible interest when information is necessary for the determination or protection of a personal or property right.
If coming in to the office to request a birth or marriage record, please call ahead if possible. Some of these records need to be updated in the Statewide Vital Records Information System before they can be printed.
CLICK HERE TO OBTAIN A VITAL RECORD FROM ANOTHER STATE