Small FontMedium FontLarge Font
Kewaunee County Wisconsin

The Kewaunee County Sheriff's Department is under the command of Sheriff Matt Joski. The position of Sheriff is an elected position with a four year term. The Sheriff is the chief law enforcement officer for the entire county and has the responsibility of ensuring the day to day operations of the Sheriff's Department run smooth and is a liaison between the County and the department.

Under the Sheriff is the Chief Deputy, held by Jason Veeser. The position of Chief Deputy is the highest non-elected position in the Sheriff's Department. The Chief Deputy receives orders from the Sheriff and is responsible for ensuring the directives set by the Sheriff are met by communicating with the lieutenants. 

Next in command are the division lieutenants, held by Lt. Chris VanErem and Lt. Eric Pieschek. Lt. VanErem directly oversees the Jail and Emergency Dispatch division and also serves the role of the Kewaunee County Jail Administrator. Lt. Pieschek directly oversees the Patrol and Investigative division and commands law enforcement operations. These two positions receive directives from the Chief Deputy. 

The two lieutenants listed above delegate authority to the four sergeants who directly supervise the deputies. Sgt. Chelsea Broomhall and Sgt. Erin Rouer supervise the operations in the Jail and Emergency Dispatch Division, while Sgt. Dustin Smidle and Sgt. Lawrence Ostermeier supervise the operation in the Patrol Division.


Contact:  Sheriff Matt Joski
Phone: (920) 388-3100
Fax: (920) 388-3998
Click here to email
Mailing Address:  Kewaunee County Sheriff's Department
620 Juneau Street
Kewaunee, WI 54216
Physical Address:  620 Juneau Street
Kewaunee, WI 54216